Top Navigation


The Development Assessment Commission is an independent statutory body whose seven Commissioners ('Members') are appointed by the Governor. DAC members are usually appointed for two years, although the Presiding Member can be appointed fora term of up to five years.

The Commissioners are selected from various fields of expertise which are designated in the Development Act. Both the Presiding Member and the Deputy Presiding Member must have qualifications and experience in urban and regional planning, building, environmental management, or a related discipline appropriate to their duties, while the other members are selected from a range of backgrounds or experience.

DAC members were appointed by the Governor for the term 8 July 2016 to and including 30 June 2018.The appointments were gazetted on 7 July 2016.

Code of Conduct

The members of the Commission are bound by the Minister's Code of Conduct. More information on the Code and how it is applied by the Commission can be found here: Code of Conduct


From 8 July 2016 - 30 June 2018, the seven Commissioners are:

  • Simone Fogarty - Presiding Member
  • Helen Dyer - Deputy Presiding Member
  • David O'Loughlin
  • Chris Branford
  • Sue Crafter
  • Peter Dungey
  • Dennis Mutton