Top Navigation

On 1 August 2017, The State Planning Commission assumed the functions, powers and duties of the Development Assessment Commission (DAC). On the same day the State Planning Commission established the State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) to continue the assessment functions formerly undertaken by the DAC. The SCAP has the same membership as the former DAC to provide for a smooth transition to the new system. Read more at


The Development Assessment Commission (DAC) is an independent statutory body established under Part 2 of South Australia's Development Act 1993. The DAC comprises of 7 members (along with a number of members for sub- committees). Which  can be viewed in the guides below.

The Commissions functions/roles include:

  • The assessment and determination of development applications, pursuant to Schedule 10 of the Development Regulations 2008
  • acting as the concurring authority for non-complying applications approved by a council or regional assessment panel
  • assessing and reporting on crown development and public infrastructure applications to the Minister for Planning
  • assisting in the initial stages of proposals being assessed under the major development provisions of the Act
  • acting as the lodgement authority for all land division applications
  • provide advice to the Minister

For further information:

  • General Guide – DAC

Also under the Development Assessment Commission sits a number of other statutory (sub) committees. These committees include:

  • The Inner Metropolitan Development Assessment Committee (IMDAC)

Acts as the delegate of the DAC to determine development applications

Under clause 4B or 4C of Schedule 10 of the development regulations 2008

  • Port Adelaide Development Assessment Committee (PADAC)

Acts as the delegate of the DAC to determine development applications

Under clause 5 or 6 of Schedule 10 of the Development regulations 2008

  • Building Rules Assessment Commission  (BRAC)

Provides concurrence on applications seeking to vary the performance requirements of the building code of Australia and applications referred to it under delegation, pursuant to Regulation 107(5) of the Development Regulations 2008

  •  Building Fire Safety Committee (BFSC)

The relevant assessing authority for fire safety of buildings located in Out of Council Areas, pursuant to Section 71 of the Development Act 1993

For further information:

  • General Guide –  IMAC
  • General Guide – PADAC
  • General Guide – BRAC
  • General Guide – BFSC

Development Number


Subject Land

Close Date


Anthony Kaines

97a Darby Road, Paechtown

Land division - one allotment into two and reactivation of a decommissioned dwelling

11 February 2016

180/E020/15 Part 1
PDF 18.8MB

180/E020/15 Part 2
PDF 11.24MB 

Patricia Weinart
c/ Giordano and Associates Pty Ltd

548 Portrush Road, Glen Osmond

Alterations and additions to Abergeldie House which comprise three stages.
1) Construction of a five-storey building at the rear of the site (with levels 1 to 4 containing car parks and level 5 for an aquatic center, gymnasium and four consulting rooms;
2) Construction of a two-storey extension to the existing structures (containing a consulting room, reception area and a multi-purpose room; and
3) Construction of an additional floor level containing an additional six consulting rooms

10 February 2016

PDF 10.7MB

Galilee Investments
c/ Fyfe Pty Ltd

76-80 Hampstead Road, Broadview

Demolition of existing structures and construction of a petrol filling station with retail building, canopy, car parking, signage and landscaping

10 February 2016

200/L003/15 Part 1 PDF 11.04MB 

200/L003/15 Part 2
PDF 11.46MB

200/L003/15 Part 3

Town of Walkerville & City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters
(Walkerville and Norwood Payneham St Peters Councils)

Severn Street, Gilberton and Swing Bridge Lane, St Peters

Refurbishment of pedestrian swing bridge, upgrade of western approach staircase, upgrade of eastern approach footpath, signage and associated earthworks.

4 February 2016